Do I need to protect myself when I give Reiki?


Q: Do I need to protect myself when I give Reiki?

A: It is always prudent when working with higher frequencies of energy, which is what one is doing when giving Reiki, to protect one’s energy before beginning. This isn’t because Reiki is dangerous, or because there could be energetic “backwash” from the person you are treating. Instead, it is because of the nature of what you are doing.

When a person is working with Reiki, the person’s energetic frequency is raised higher. The subtle frequencies of Reiki energy, as well as many other energy sources, are at a higher frequency of vibration than those which we embody day to day. It’s like we’re playing a lower note usually, but when working with Reiki we are reaching for a higher note.

Other practices also raise one’s energetic frequency. Some examples are: meditation, yoga, Qi Gong, Tai Chi, and other energy healing practices. We raise our frequency in doing these things, which allows connection to the Source energy – of which Reiki is a part. Then we can ask that energy of this frequency enter and replenish us or our client. This asking is called “intention” and it’s not a prayer, hope, dream or wish – it’s a directive. When we intend to connect with Reiki energy, meditate, or do these other practices mentioned above, we are open to allowing this higher vibrational Source energy to flow into and through us. Our intuition allows us to communicate with these higher frequencies. This communication assists Reiki practitioners in sensing the needs of the client or self, and sometimes receive guidance or intuitive messages.

So this “opening” to connect with the subtler frequencies raises our vibration just enough to do the work we are intending to do. As is the case with magnetic energy, opposites attract. There are negative energy bits around us as well. They are attracted to higher energy frequencies, and may find an open person a handy entry point.

We can avoid attracting negative energy by using energetic protection techniques. There are many simple ways to protect your energy before giving Reiki or working with intuition. The easiest is just to ask. Say or think an intention that your field be energetically protected as you do this work. I usually think, “I ask for protection and assistance from my guides, angels, and Spirit as I offer this Reiki session.”

Another technique that is especially protective include visualizing and intending that a shield of blue, gold and white light surround your aura, only allowing positive energy to enter. Do this before beginning a healing. Some Reiki practitioners place symbols around the room and in their aura and hands before beginning a treatment, with the intention of protection, support and healing. It’s all intention, and all of them work. So choose what you like and make it a part of your practice.

If you’d like to learn more about energetic protection techniques or increasing your intuition, visit the Reiki Awakening Academy.

About Reiki Awakening

Alice Langholt is a parent, author and teacher with Master level training in several Reiki modalities. She is the Founder and Executive Director of Reiki Awakening Academy School of Intuitive Development (ReikiAwakeningAcademy.com). Alice is the author of the new Reiki resource, Practical Reiki TM: for balance, well-being, and vibrant health. A guide to a simple, revolutionary energy healing method, which won second place for Best Reiki Book in the 2012 About.com Reader’s Choice Awards. Alice maintains a local Reiki practice as an Associate at Insight Learning and Wellness Center in the Cleveland, Ohio area. In addition, she has authored eBooks in Distance Healing and Energetic Protection, as well as specific curricula in Reiki for Parents, Reiki for Nurses and Caregivers (approved by the Ohio Board of Nurses for continuing education units), and more. Alice spent a year volunteering at The Cleveland Clinic offering Reiki to patients and staff, and is a Group Leader with The Distance Healing Network (the-dhn.com). She will teach Practical Reiki in Lily Dale, NY (August 2013), and gives workshops at holistic expos around the US. Alice is rated the #1 most influential person on Twitter under the category Reiki by wefollow.com. Her husband, Evan, and their four kids know and use Reiki. As a teacher, Alice believes that close guidance and mentoring are essential elements for learning energy healing. She provides this support to each student, getting to know each and assist him or her in growing intuition and becoming confident practitioners. Receive Reiki, order pendulums, energy charged stones, and more by visiting Alice at ReikiAwakening.com.
This entry was posted in practicing Reiki, Reiki and angels, Reiki and protection, Reiki and psychic abilities, Reiki FAQs, Reiki treatments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Do I need to protect myself when I give Reiki?

  1. João says:

    put you naked feet on the ground when giving Reiki or you´ll keep with you all the bad energy. Also ask the person that is receiving to put their naked feet on the ground as well. All the bad energy will go to the ground and leave the therapist and the hill person

    • Thank you for your comment, although I don’t agree that your suggestion is necessary. Intention is key. If you believe that barefoot is necessary, I suppose it will be.

      Love and light,

      Alice ReikiAwakeningAcademy.com

    • João says:

      also,the spiritual world doesn´t accept Reiki at all.If you give Reiki at distance or directly to someone that has spiritual problems,be sure that you´ll be attacked.Also know that Reiki is only an “aspirine”,not an “antibiotic”.Beware of wichcraft and things like that because it will kick back 100% for sure and you´ll suffer.The ill one will stay fine but you´ll be in a very nasty situation.And I say this by experience.It´s not pretty at all.Psicossomatic illness is one thing but spiritual illnesses are to strong for Reiki.So yes, you need to protect yourself very much when using Reiki.

      • I believe that you are taking an alarmist approach. It’s better to use common sense, stay in the light with positive intention, and ask for protection and assistance from your guides and angels when sending a healing. Ground, cleanse, protect is a good rule of thumb. This will really be most of what you need. Reiki will not cause a practitioner harm as long as he uses common sense and practices ethically.

        To say “the spiritual world doesn’t accept Reiki at all” makes no sense. Reiki is a spiritual practice, and it’s very effective.

        Alice

      • Joao, it sounds like you have a lot of unnecessary fears and worries related to reiki. I would suggest that whatever experiences you are basing you comments on perhaps was not reiki, but something else. Reiki is harmless and positive. It is a loving all-encompassing spiritual healing modality.

  2. Heather says:

    Thank you for sharing this valuable information. I believe that it is important to protect your energy at all times not only when you are working with clients. I also believe that intention is the most important thing in all aspects of life. As a Spiritual Leader I believe that it is very important to share what we know about energy with everyone. Thank you

  3. suebates says:

    Hi Alice,
    I am treating a client who has been seriously ill. The nature of his illness has left him with tinutis, an annoying ringing in his ear. I have treated his 3 times, and he has seen an amazing blue light every time he closes his eyes since. At his last appointment, he commented that the tinutis has actually gone worse and even the drippng of water is so clear it hurts. the doctor is baffled and is sending him for an MRI scan. Also, he is itching a lot. Do you think this is a ‘healing crisis’? Thankyou

    • Hi Sue,

      Thanks for your question. The symptoms sound like they could be a healing crisis. The only way to know is if he can continue to drink plenty of water, get fresh air and rest, and receive more Reiki for a couple days and see if it can clear out. Sometimes, as you know, symptoms temporarily worsen before a significant improvement occurs. This could be one of those times. Especially telling is his sensitivity (and thus receptiveness) to Reiki (the blue light). So this encourages me to say that a healing crisis is very possible in this case. Please let me know what happens. Love and light, Alice

  4. deshmukh says:

    can i solve my marriage dispute through reiki

    • You can use Reiki to help you heal bonds between you, to help improve the way YOU relate to your partner, for example using Reiki to increase your patience, heart-centered communication, empathy, etc. Work on yourself and you will see results in your life. Reiki will help steer your life towards the highest and best for you, so whether that means keeping your relationship or moving on, I can’t say. But it always helps you and is for good and healing.

  5. João says:

    but if the person wants to be apart from for good Reiki will only make ir worst.Reiki is only for those who ask for it or accept it conscienciously. If you try to “fix” anything thru Reiki against the will of the other person, it will strike back.At least that was my experience.

    • I do not believe that Reiki can cause harm. However, if a person does not want Reiki, he will not receive it. I also believe that one should obtain permission before sending Reiki to another person whenever possible. And Reiki will not and cannot manipulate someone. It simply brings about balance where the recipient is ready to receive it.

      Alice

    • Michelyne Callan says:

      Alice is right, reiki cannot strike back, as you suggest. It does no harm, it only provides help. Where some one’s high self does no accept the offer of distance reiki, then the reiki does not get transmitted to that person. I always ask for permission first, and always suggest if there is excess reiki energy after, or it is some how rejected and I don’t detect it, that the help goes to a global concern like war or poverty to help heal it.

  6. Manal says:

    Hi, I am a reiki practitioner and I am asked to do reiki sessions to cancer patients. Is there any risk that I might get bad energy that can cause me cancer in future?

  7. Michelyne Callan says:

    I have worked with a few terminal cancer clients and it is an amazingly loving experience. No harm, only help is involved.

  8. Helen Hageman says:

    Hi i am a Reiki Master/Teacher i am also Clairaudient clairvoyant and claircognisant . I have my own healing team who work with me their energy comes in on my left and sometimes i am spoken to during a session, i am given their names, at the moment i have Joe, peter, an angel who gave her name Athena and a lady who has her hair in a bun and i think she is called Sara. My mum is in spirit and sometimes helps me with my healing work but mums energy always comes to me on my right and she places her hand over my right hand and my hand feels like an electric current and the person i am healing always states afterwards they felt like warm electricity running through their body making them feel extremely relaxed, warm tingly and well loved. I have had no Seichem attunements. Does anyone else have these experiences while giving Reiki or is it heightened due to my psychic gifts as it is awesome for me when giving Reiki. I have been told by a medium i have had a lot of power placed in my hands, and two weeks ago during an automatic writing session with my guides i was told ” You move beyond space and time your hands defy the laws of all prophets. Helen listen to your inner voice as well as your outer what is it telling you? After sharing this with you i have to say i am no one special, i am an ordinary 48 year old woman who has gone through the same ups and downs in life as others have, i have an amazing supportive husband and was blessed with my son Daniel. I thank god and the spirit realm everyday for my gifts and for the gift of having my mum being able to work with me from spirit as i miss her physical presence everyday.
    Helen x

    • Dear Helen,

      Thank you for your comment. You are certainly doubly blessed with heightened intuition and energy healing abilities. While I believe that it’s possible for anyone who wants to learn to develop these gifts, some, like you, seem to develop them “naturally”. It is really wonderful to read of your abilities. Thank you for sharing them here.

      We are all special – and so are you. 😀

      Blessings,
      Alice

  9. Helen Hageman says:

    Dear Alice
    Thank you so much for your very quick response and yes i do feel very blessed.
    I am sitting here feeling very emotional right now as i am rarely so open about my gifts but i just knew when i came on to your site that i would be free to release and share my gifts with others as in todays society being psychic quite often means being ridiculed by others who have no understanding and no wish to understand the possibility’s of a spirit realm. Reiki has changed my life in so many ways i feel it was always a part of my destiny, and helping others is always a good thing. You are one special lady too Alice so i am sending you a hug all the way from Bridlington in England to your home in America with love and light.
    Helen x

    • Kathy McEntee says:

      Dear Alice & Helen
      Happy New Year from Woking in England. I found your site very easily this morning. I was looking for help and advice in protecting myself whilst giving Reiki. My problem has been taking on other people’s symptoms and feeling sick and unwell afterwards, sometimes for a couple of days. I’ve recently had the most beautiful Reiki sessions given to me by someone else, and she was positively glowing afterwards, so I know it’s possible as a Reiki healer to also feel the benefits whilst giving Reiki. I believe I do set the intention before I begin, but I don’t feel grounded. I want to set up my own private practice. It’s definitely the right time for me, but I’m feeling fear in that something may come up that I cannot deal with, or that I will be unwell. Do you have any suggestions to help me please. Love and light Kathy x

      • Ask your guides and angels to clear the things that are blocking you from moving ahead. Give yourself Reiki to open channels of opportunity and clear the things that block you. Focus on your solar plexus chakra for confidence, and release any past life or present life baggage which connects to fear of failure or fear of success. Breathe, and deal with any anxiety that comes up by recognizing, thanking, and releasing it.
        Good luck and good energy to you.

      • Hi Kathy
        Always ground yourself before giving Reiki you can do this by opening your root Chakra and visualize that red earthy energy moving down your legs to your feet and out through the souls of your feet in to the ground. Then visualize this earthy energy traveling down through the soil and all the lairs of rock to the earths core and wrapping the energy around the core and reversing all the way back to you so you are anchored to the ground. Also at the end of each Reiki session ask for the healees body to over take and maintain the healing you have given and then cleanse your hands in cool soapy water visualizing washing away all negativity you may have picked up. It is also a very good idea to open your chakras before each session and close them down straight after. good luck and keep up the good work as we need healers all around the world and i am sending this with love and light. x

  10. sandra says:

    Thank you. Sincerely.

Leave a Reply

