Is Reiki against religion?


Q: Is Reiki against religion?

A: No. Reiki is not a religion or a religious practice. It is a spritual practice. If your religious leaders speak out against Reiki, they may not understand what Reiki is really about. Or they may be coming from a place of fear of the unknown, thinking that something that is not defined in their religious literature must be “wrong.” I can’t change someone’s mind if they have that view.

However, I will tell you what I believe, along with the many others I know who practice Reiki. We come from a wide variety of religious (and non-religious) backgrounds and beliefs.

I believe that life force energy exists in all living beings. This is the same energy that Reiki is at its essence. When I am offering Reiki to another person, I am offering that person more of what they, themselves, are made of, and are lacking in some places (which creates imbalance in those areas).

In addition, the person receiving Reiki is in charge (consciously or subconsciously) of exactly how much energy is received, and where it goes. I am simply offering energy to that person for that person to take, as one might offer a jar of lotion to someone who may then take some and apply it where needed.

If Reiki energy is the same life-energy that we have as part of us from conception, it is what we have been given by our Creator, however you choose to define that Source. Therefore, offering some of the same, which doesn’t come from me, but instead through me, is just more of a universal redistribution of the same Source energy that’s part of All That Is.

Prayer is another way of intending that energy move and change someone’s situation. Asking for help from Source is pretty similar to asking that energy re-balance a person where needed. Reiki is not prayer, but there are parallels. If prayer is not against religion, neither is Reiki.

I welcome comments, but hateful or religiously judgmental comments will be deleted.

Alice
ReikiAwakening.com

About Reiki Awakening

Alice Langholt is a parent, author and teacher with Master level training in several Reiki modalities. She is the Founder and Executive Director of Reiki Awakening Academy School of Intuitive Development (ReikiAwakeningAcademy.com). Alice is the author of the new Reiki resource, Practical Reiki TM: for balance, well-being, and vibrant health. A guide to a simple, revolutionary energy healing method, which won second place for Best Reiki Book in the 2012 About.com Reader’s Choice Awards. Alice maintains a local Reiki practice as an Associate at Insight Learning and Wellness Center in the Cleveland, Ohio area. In addition, she has authored eBooks in Distance Healing and Energetic Protection, as well as specific curricula in Reiki for Parents, Reiki for Nurses and Caregivers (approved by the Ohio Board of Nurses for continuing education units), and more. Alice spent a year volunteering at The Cleveland Clinic offering Reiki to patients and staff, and is a Group Leader with The Distance Healing Network (the-dhn.com). She will teach Practical Reiki in Lily Dale, NY (August 2013), and gives workshops at holistic expos around the US. Alice is rated the #1 most influential person on Twitter under the category Reiki by wefollow.com. Her husband, Evan, and their four kids know and use Reiki. As a teacher, Alice believes that close guidance and mentoring are essential elements for learning energy healing. She provides this support to each student, getting to know each and assist him or her in growing intuition and becoming confident practitioners. Receive Reiki, order pendulums, energy charged stones, and more by visiting Alice at ReikiAwakening.com.
This entry was posted in Reiki and religion, Reiki FAQs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is Reiki against religion?

  1. As I turned to the spirit for direction on how to be healed (I am Christian)….I was led to energy work. I remember wondering at first if I was actually being spiritually directed to explore energy work or if I was ‘straying from the path.’ I had fallen prey to that type of rigid thinking. I kept procrastinating but I’m glad I listened to the promptings eventually.. My insurance covers acupuncture, so I do that. instead of Reiki, but I know that if the opportunity presents itself at the right time, I will try it. Doing energy work while understanding the body spirit connection can facilitate great healing (both physical and spiritual). I know that energy work can really help people overcome trauma. My acupuncturist (chinese healer) helped me to work through past abuse issues. I have so much more joy now…so much peace and understanding..

    • Veronica,

      I’m so glad that you looked into your heart for the openness to find your Truth. Acupuncture is very valuable, and I’m sure that Reiki would help you also. If I can be of any assistance to you, please let me know.

      Thank you for sharing so much in your insightful and personal comment.

      Love and light, Alice

  2. Amy Phoenix says:

    Thank you Alice. 🙂

    Experience has brought me to feel that facilitating healing is the affirmation of the life energy present within a person along with the clearing of (at least some of) what stands in the way of that person feeling their life essence all of the time. The clearing of conditioning and emotional baggage/attachment as the life essence is affirmed is what we feel during an energy healing experience.

    Rather than an answer one needs to seek from outside, we as facilitators are humble messengers pointing people into themselves where they can re-kindle/grow their awareness of the Creative Essence living within and through them.

    • Hi Amy, Thanks for your comment. I’m not sure exactly what you would propose to do in the case of someone telling you that Reiki is against religion, but I appreciate you trying to maintain a spiritual presence. The issue here is more the grounded reality of dealing with this circumstance. We have to live here on the ground and still be able to maintain our trust in what we are doing. It’s a balance. Love and light, Alice

      • Amy says:

        I have dealt with the experience of someone telling me Reiki is against religion, even the Creator (as some see the two separate – religion being a way of understanding the Creator and the Creator sinply being the Creator). In that experience I listened to the concerns and decided to go within to seek clarification about how I facilitate and describe the experience. I also listened to the experience of those I have worked with. I researched the stuff on the net saying that Reiki is evil.

        What I found is what I described above. More than me offering someone energy, I am affirming their inherent connection to the source of life. I suppose an analogy may assist. If I say I offer you energy then you may feel it comes from me. In truth, if I am facilitating clear energy work I am not offering personal energy other than the fact that I am communicating in some form with the Creator to initiate healing. As you say, the intention of the person also solidifies the experience. In that, the experience of Reiki (spiritual energy) is not actually an exchange, but an affirmation of what’s already there.

        I am not saying your description is wrong. These are simply two slightly different perspectives. The reason I related all of this is because in choosing to share healing with religious people I needed to honestly consider my knowledge and response. Experience led me to this one where I give credit where it’s due and some people find it easier to understand and not fear because there is no exchange of energy, only affirmation of life.

        I realize this may conflict with current perspectives on Reiki and I share this as another possible way to discuss healing with people from different backgrounds. Specifically, the Bible talks about spiritual gifts, the Creator having a plan for our lives, and those coming from the fruits of the spirit.

        To me, maintaining spiritual presence as you mention is the reality of grounding spirituality into the earthly experience. 🙂

      • Thanks for clarifying and sharing your experience, Amy. There’s lots to think about here and you presented it very thoughtfully. Thanks for enriching the discussion.
        Blessings, Alice

Leave a Reply

