Do I have to lie down to receive Reiki?


Q: Do I have to lie down to receive Reiki?

A: No. You can lie down if you wish, or if your session is given with you on a massage table or couch. It’s helpful for you to be comfortable. But you may also sit on a chair or couch, the floor, or even stand up. Your physical position is not as important as your willingness to receive the energy.

Reiki can be received in any position at all, whether you are relaxed or running around, walking, doing chores, or anything. You will certainly feel and experience the energy the most if you are quiet, relaxed, and gently aware. However, if you are willing to receive the energy, you will, whether you are consciously aware of it or not.

I often send energy to my husband during the day, and he may or may not actually feel it coming, depending on what he is doing at the time. My students sometimes send me Reiki, and I may or may not feel it, depending on what I’m doing. If I’m doing the dishes or at the grocery store, I may not be aware of the subtle sensations of the energy. But if I am relaxed and resting, I very well may feel a familiar tingle that alerts me to the fact that energy is being received at that moment.

I often arrange for the Reiki I send people to begin when they intend for the Reiki to start. That way, the recipient is in a relaxed and aware state, ready to experience the fullness of the energy healing as it is working. That is called “queueing” a healing. I teach my students how to do this as well.

If you’d like to learn Reiki, or find out more, please visit ReikiAwakening.com.

If you have questions for the Reiki Question and Answer of the Day, or a comment, please submit them below!

About Reiki Awakening

Alice Langholt is a parent, author and teacher with Master level training in several Reiki modalities. She is the Founder and Executive Director of Reiki Awakening Academy School of Intuitive Development (ReikiAwakeningAcademy.com). Alice is the author of the new Reiki resource, Practical Reiki TM: for balance, well-being, and vibrant health. A guide to a simple, revolutionary energy healing method, which won second place for Best Reiki Book in the 2012 About.com Reader’s Choice Awards. Alice maintains a local Reiki practice as an Associate at Insight Learning and Wellness Center in the Cleveland, Ohio area. In addition, she has authored eBooks in Distance Healing and Energetic Protection, as well as specific curricula in Reiki for Parents, Reiki for Nurses and Caregivers (approved by the Ohio Board of Nurses for continuing education units), and more. Alice spent a year volunteering at The Cleveland Clinic offering Reiki to patients and staff, and is a Group Leader with The Distance Healing Network (the-dhn.com). She will teach Practical Reiki in Lily Dale, NY (August 2013), and gives workshops at holistic expos around the US. Alice is rated the #1 most influential person on Twitter under the category Reiki by wefollow.com. Her husband, Evan, and their four kids know and use Reiki. As a teacher, Alice believes that close guidance and mentoring are essential elements for learning energy healing. She provides this support to each student, getting to know each and assist him or her in growing intuition and becoming confident practitioners. Receive Reiki, order pendulums, energy charged stones, and more by visiting Alice at ReikiAwakening.com.
This entry was posted in feeling Reiki, practicing Reiki, Reiki FAQs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do I have to lie down to receive Reiki?

  1. Great post! As always I think it’s great that you’re doing this 🙂 I myself always give the “directive” that the energy will be received when the person is ready and then tell whomever to “call it in” when they’re ready. I’m not sure how similar this practice is to your own, but I figure that it allows the person to be a bit more involved in the experience as well as aware.

Leave a Reply

