How can I make my Reiki stronger?


Q: How can I make my Reiki stronger?

A: First, let’s clarify the question. You want to feel the energy flowing more strongly when you are working on yourself and others. Many times beginners to Reiki don’t feel the energy strongly, or they work on another person who says that he or she doesn’t feel anything happening. You may think the energy is “not working” or you are “not good at Reiki.” But neither is true. What you want to know is “How can I feel the Reiki energy more strongly?” The reason I clarify the question is because once you are attuned to Reiki, the energy is flowing. It doesn’t discriminate between beginners and masters. The energy flows.

So why would the energy feel weak or not as strong as you’d like it to feel? It is partially about your own ability to feel the energy, and may also have to do with your own state of balance. Here are some pointers for increasing your ability to feel the energy strongly:

  • Be aware of your clair. This is a little rhyme I like to use to tell practitioners to know for themselves how the energy feels. Because we all have our own way of sensing the energy intuitively, knowing your primary way that you receive intuitive information helps you to pay attention to that sensory input. Clairs are different ways to receive intuitive information. Simply speaking, they are: visually, audiently (hearing), sentiently (sense of touch), and cognitively (knowing). If you see colors while energy is flowing, you are clairvoyant (visually sensitive to energy). If you hear music or a ringing or buzzing sound, you are clairaudient. If you feel tingles or changes in temperature, you are clairsentient, and if you get a gut sense of knowing the energy is flowing, you are claircognizant. Most people have one major clair and one or more minor clairs working for them. Identify the way intuitive information comes to you, and then observe how you feel through that mode while you are channeling Reiki energy. You’ll notice more and more that way, and the energy will feel stronger to you. If the recipient says that he “doesn’t feel anything” while you’re giving Reiki, try to help him find his own primary clair and observe it. I like to tell people new to Reiki, “Notice what’s different.” That helps them be tuned in to any sensations, rather than what they might be expecting.
  • Practice, practice, practice. Your intuition is an energetic muscle. The more exercise it gets, the stronger it becomes. When your intuition gets stronger, you sense the energy flowing more strongly, and become aware of a variety of nuances in the flow of the energy – it becomes more detailed and your senses become more refined. Your confidence increases too, and that helps you and your recipients notice the energy as you are sharing it.
  • Do regular self-healing. If you are in need of healing, if you are off-balance, the energy will bring you into balance and make you a clearer and stronger channel for giving healing to others. You’ll be able to sense the energy more from a grounded and whole place. If your own issues are distracting you in some way, you will be less able to focus on the energy you are giving to others. So heal yourself with Reiki regularly. Not only will you benefit, but you’ll live in integrity because you are “walking your talk.” You will be able to personally vouch for the benefits of Reiki from your own experience.

If you’d like personal assistance with Reiki, I offer Intuitive Solutions Coaching – individual mentoring to help you reach your intuitive goals. To learn more about Reiki, or experience Reiki for yourself, please visit ReikiAwakening.com.

Have a comment? Have a question for the Reiki Question and Answer of the Day blog? Leave it below!

About Reiki Awakening

Alice Langholt is a parent, author and teacher with Master level training in several Reiki modalities. She is the Founder and Executive Director of Reiki Awakening Academy School of Intuitive Development (ReikiAwakeningAcademy.com). Alice is the author of the new Reiki resource, Practical Reiki TM: for balance, well-being, and vibrant health. A guide to a simple, revolutionary energy healing method, which won second place for Best Reiki Book in the 2012 About.com Reader’s Choice Awards. Alice maintains a local Reiki practice as an Associate at Insight Learning and Wellness Center in the Cleveland, Ohio area. In addition, she has authored eBooks in Distance Healing and Energetic Protection, as well as specific curricula in Reiki for Parents, Reiki for Nurses and Caregivers (approved by the Ohio Board of Nurses for continuing education units), and more. Alice spent a year volunteering at The Cleveland Clinic offering Reiki to patients and staff, and is a Group Leader with The Distance Healing Network (the-dhn.com). She will teach Practical Reiki in Lily Dale, NY (August 2013), and gives workshops at holistic expos around the US. Alice is rated the #1 most influential person on Twitter under the category Reiki by wefollow.com. Her husband, Evan, and their four kids know and use Reiki. As a teacher, Alice believes that close guidance and mentoring are essential elements for learning energy healing. She provides this support to each student, getting to know each and assist him or her in growing intuition and becoming confident practitioners. Receive Reiki, order pendulums, energy charged stones, and more by visiting Alice at ReikiAwakening.com.
This entry was posted in feeling Reiki, practicing Reiki, Reiki and psychic abilities, Reiki FAQs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to How can I make my Reiki stronger?

  1. Ernie Betz says:

    I would like to add to your list the sense of smell and taste. Several have commented to me that they can experience tastes and smells when they use Reiki and like energy. Some times pleasant and other times unpleasant flavors and odors.

  2. A good way to practice is to use your energy in new and insightful ways. One good way of doing this is to visit Fans of Energy on Facebook or Fans of Energy on a daily basis.

    And I agree with Ernie. Here is a smell game, go to your spice drawer and pick a spice. Smell it before working with energy. Do this several times to imprint the association. Now when you smell this spice your energy will start flowing. It also works when I taste the spice.

    How is that one Alice? And yes I did choose turmeric. I wrote this for Ernie. 🙂

    • I totally agree, Yancey, first that FansofEnergy.com is a great website! Next, you and Ernie are right that olfactory and taste senses are also valid ways of receiving energetic information (or triggering it – with tumeric?) although I don’t know the clair-name for those!

      Thanks for being…just so cool, Yancey.
      Love, Alice

  3. bhagwant says:

    I have same problem ..I was attuned before 20 days and from the first day I am not feeling any energy flowing in my hand or anywhere else ..except the two days ..one day I felt a lot of energy flowing in my hand and I wanted to remove my hand as it was too hot and after few days I just felt energy in my left hand little finger for few seconds.I am quite worry that I am not feeling any energy and not feeling any drastic change (which can confirm me that it is because of reiki) , in fact I forget many small things many times.I was very eager to earn this and now do not know what to do. Please suggest as I did not find any other forum to listen my problem.

    • Hi and thank you for your comment and question.

      I suggest that you receive a Reiki healing to help clear your energy, and possibly get re-attuned, and then do daily self healing. It sounds as if your attunement may have stirred up some energy which hasn’t completely cleared. Healing is a process, and so my guess is that you need some Reiki sessions to help complete this process before you can feel the energy again.

      Please let me know how you’re doing soon.
      Blessings, Alice

    • shane says:

      Hello
      I just want to say that the way that people feelthe energy is very diferant. I meditate every morning and treat myself it sounds to me like the energy is flowing in you but you just need to try to control it.
      I think meditation will help. Or yoga the more you do the better.
      I hope this helps

  4. LInda says:

    Thank you for this great article. I am new to Reiki and have recently been attuned. I see colors as well as feel tingling and static feelings while energy is flowing. I am interested in finding out what the colors mean, as it seems to appear differently for everyone. Is there a resource out there that would help me to understand?

    Thanks

    • Hi Linda! So great that you’ve discovered the beauty and power of Reiki! You are clairvoyant and clairsentient, from what you describe, and that’s great! I would like to recommend my book, Practical Reiki as a resource to teach you about the colors you are seeing. Chapter 4 has all of the information on each chakra and its meaning and associated color. There is also a great bibliography at the back of the book with more resources and recommendations. Love and light to you on your journey and please stay in touch! I’m here to help! Love, Alice

  5. Sharath says:

    Nice one… I want to get attuned to Reiki. So, i want to know whether time factor matters to practice Reiki?

    • Hi Sharath,
      It depends what you mean by time factor. Mindful practice and feeling ready is what matters most. Plus having a good teacher who supports your learning and confidence with your practice. 😀
      Love and light,
      Alice

  6. Bernie says:

    Thank you I recently received MTV reiki 1 atonement in January and its a beautifully experience my reiki master was moving up from the bed when I gave her reiki she said everyone turned up to watch .best experience ever I wanted to learn reiki to help my son.

  7. Robin Seidman says:

    I am currently a Usui Reiki Master and would like to become a “Master of Masters” enabling me to attune Reiki Masters. I have been unable to find any trainings. Could you please advise me?

    • Robin,

      Can you please explain what you mean by Master of Masters and attuning Reiki Masters? Anyone at the Master level of Reiki can attune another through Master level.
      Thank you,
      Alice

  8. Sonam says:

    I have learnt reiki and got attunement online few years back and i have used it to heal myself and my children but i would like to learn it from a master with who can guide me whenever i need help and also with whom i can ask questions.i hope you can help me.

    • I’d be happy to help you! I highly suggest Practical Reiki – the book, the training, and I’m 100% committed to my students’ confidence and success with Reiki, offering lifetime support. That’s what I think it means to be a Reiki Master Teacher, and I live this way because I’m passionate about empowering people with Reiki.

      Have a look at ReikiAwakening.com and PracticalReiki.org.

      I’m here to help.
      Blessings,
      Alice

Leave a Reply

