Can Reiki be given or taught to children?


Q: Can Reiki be given or taught to children?

A: Yes! Reiki is very beneficial for children in many ways! Here’s a little background:

After I learned Reiki, I found myself using it to soothe my kids (I have four) when I didn’t otherwise have the answer. For example, my infant daughter had gas built up in her tummy, and Reiki energy relaxed her, helping her release it and feel better. My toddler had a bad dream, and Reiki energy combined with hugs helped him release the negative emotions associated with his dream and get back to sleep. My 5 year old had a headache, and while she rested on the couch, Reiki helped release the pain. My 7 year old was angry about something and Reiki helped her calm down faster from her intense emotions. When my kids were sick with colds or fevers, giving them Reiki helped speed recovery and healing. I realized that I was using Reiki all day long, for all kinds of reasons, and it was working. Self healing with Reiki also would help me release the stress from the day when I went to sleep at night, and helped me feel calmer and more balanced to deal with all of the demands of being a working mom.

My kids describe Reiki as “a warm energy that feels good and helps you feel better when something is wrong.” I think it is a great explanation for kids to understand. I even use this explanation sometimes when an adult asks me to describe Reiki in one sentence.

Kids may need less Reiki than adults, because they are smaller. So shorter sessions are usually fine.

A parent who has been attuned to Reiki can channel Reiki to his or her children, to increase balance, relaxation, and relieve stresses that children experience on all levels. Reiki can empower you to help your child with: nightmares, insomnia, strong emotions they don’t know how to deal with, aches and pains, illness, and stress. I love teaching parents Reiki because they have instant access to tools that can make parenting easier, and enhance the loving parent-child bond.

Children can also learn Reiki, and teaching them Reiki is a gift they’ll have for life. They will always know that they have the power within themselves to help them when they have trouble falling asleep, pain, aches, intense emotions, or want to help their friends, family, and pets feel better too. My kids give each other Reiki, and it’s a beautiful way for them to share love and show they care for each other. Reiki is also useful for teens, who are naturally off balance from hormones and teen drama. Infants through adults can benefit from receiving and learning Reiki, and it lasts a lifetime.

I have developed a Reiki for Parents course that teaches parents ideas for how to incorporate Reiki energy into a daily way of life for balance, effective parenting, and increased well being overall. You can learn in person, or from home. Find out more about Reiki for Parents here.

If you have a question for the Reiki Question and Answer of the Day blog, or a comment, please leave it below!

To learn more about Reiki, visit ReikiAwakening.com.

About Reiki Awakening

Alice Langholt is a parent, author and teacher with Master level training in several Reiki modalities. She is the Founder and Executive Director of Reiki Awakening Academy School of Intuitive Development (ReikiAwakeningAcademy.com). Alice is the author of the new Reiki resource, Practical Reiki TM: for balance, well-being, and vibrant health. A guide to a simple, revolutionary energy healing method, which won second place for Best Reiki Book in the 2012 About.com Reader’s Choice Awards. Alice maintains a local Reiki practice as an Associate at Insight Learning and Wellness Center in the Cleveland, Ohio area. In addition, she has authored eBooks in Distance Healing and Energetic Protection, as well as specific curricula in Reiki for Parents, Reiki for Nurses and Caregivers (approved by the Ohio Board of Nurses for continuing education units), and more. Alice spent a year volunteering at The Cleveland Clinic offering Reiki to patients and staff, and is a Group Leader with The Distance Healing Network (the-dhn.com). She will teach Practical Reiki in Lily Dale, NY (August 2013), and gives workshops at holistic expos around the US. Alice is rated the #1 most influential person on Twitter under the category Reiki by wefollow.com. Her husband, Evan, and their four kids know and use Reiki. As a teacher, Alice believes that close guidance and mentoring are essential elements for learning energy healing. She provides this support to each student, getting to know each and assist him or her in growing intuition and becoming confident practitioners. Receive Reiki, order pendulums, energy charged stones, and more by visiting Alice at ReikiAwakening.com.
This entry was posted in Reiki and kids, Reiki FAQs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can Reiki be given or taught to children?

  1. Tove Myrland says:

    I really like all of your posts Alice and this one is no exeption:-) I have no doubts about the fact that everyone can learn and use Reiki on themselves and others. Also children. When we learn that Reiki is in everyone and everything, ofcourse that also means that is in children too.

    I use Reiki on my granddaughter and she moves my hands around to where she wants them-:) When she feel that she needs my hands for any reason, she just tell me to tuch her. I have no doubts at all that Reiki works on her, for exactly what she needs at the moment-:)

    • Thank you Tove! I’m glad you’re reading and enjoying my posts, and that you’ve discovered, as I have, that Reiki is a beautiful help to parents and to everyone! Love and light, Alice

  2. Chantal says:

    Both of my sons are Reiki 1 Attuned, and my eldest is due to start his Reiki 2 attunement with me next week; I too also offer Reiki courses for kids, and I am working hard to get it into schools too as an after school club as I feel it would be beneficial to children from the age of 7 up as well as teenagers and those taking exams such as GCSEs. Well done for bringing this out to the publics attention. Best wishes Chantal xx

    • Thank you, Chantal, for sharing your experience and endorsement of Reiki personally and professionally! Keep up the great work and we’ll make a change and make the job of parenting easier for everyone! Much love, Alice

Leave a comment